The History of Parsons the Jewellers
Across four centuries, a devoted 230 years of jewellery craftsmanship has built Parsons loyal, family customers. Over that time, families have passed down timeless heirlooms, entrusting Parsons to restore antique jewellery to its former glory.
A timeless British institution, Parsons remains the UK’s oldest jewellers; nurturing all its traditional service attributes and craftsmanship whilst adopting new methods of reaching out to customers worldwide through its web presence.
1710 J.Edugecumbe established Parsons Jewellers
1796 J.Edgecumbe’s brother, Nathaniel, devoted himself to continuing the business.
1840 George Parsons, nephew to John and Nathaniel, worked to learn the clockmaker craft.
1860 George Parsons, having been passed the Edgecumbe heirloom, brought his father Joseph into the Edgecumbe’s family fold. George, a romantic at heart, began crafting jewellery. The family built a bespoke shop frontage, known as Old Queen Anne House on Redcross street in Bristol.
1887 Joseph Edgecumbe Parson - George’s son, took stewardship of the Jewellers.
1920 His son, Cyril Parsons, inherited this family institution. As a testament to his true goldsmith expertise, he has entrusted chairmanship of Great Britain’s National Association of Goldsmiths.
1949 Eric Parsons, alongside his wife Freda, wed himself to the family institution, working until the turn of the 20th century.